Senior Football – De La Salle

Senior Football

Simcox Championship

Senior Football Simcox Championship: De La Salle College V Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh (By Fionn Fitzgibbon and Adam Ben Hinchion)

De La Salle travelled to Bishopstown’s 4g pitch to take on Spioraid Naoimh in the first round of the Simcox Cup. The home team got off to a better start as they managed to find the net in the opening two minutes. Alexander Asling followed this with an excellent  point, from the outside of the foot, to get De La Salle up and running. This was followed by another point from Joe O’Mullane. Great defending by Cormac Bourke and Jack Devine kept a lively Spioraid Naoimh side contained. A promising passage of football by Denis Mullane and Alan Desmond was rewarded with a penalty, but unfortunately Denis failed to convert. Another goal from Spioraid Naoimh saw the De La Salle heads drop, but they showed great heart bouncing back with a point from Tom Browne and a goal by Sean O’Leary. Haftime score: De La Salle 1-7 to 2-2.

For the second half De La Salle looked for fresh legs as they brought on Noah O’Leary for Alan Desmond. Spioraid Naoimh started the half stronger as they came out with two quick points to level the game. Joe O’Mullane got a point to put De La Salle back in front. Spiorad Naoimh followed with another goal and kicked another two points. De La Salle looked to the bench again as Ryan Sabas came on for Joe O’Mullane. Tom Browne kept the scoreboard ticking over for De La Salle. Another sub for De La Salle as Oisin O’Sullivan came on for Alexander Asling. Denis O’Mullane kicked over another free to keep De La Salle in touch. Sean O’Leary got De La Salle back in the game as he finished a superb solo run and put the ball into the top left corner of the goal. Tom Browne brought DLS within a point of the home team. De La Salle made yet another sub as Jamie Hourihan came on for Sean O’Leary. Spiorad Naoimh finished the game with another point. A disappointing loss for the boys in a very lively game. The Macroom boys showed great heart against a tough side. Full time De La Salle 2-12 Spiorad Naoimh 3-11.

Team: 1-Stiofan McSweeney(Uibh Laoire) 2-David Lynch(Kilmichael) 3-Jack Devine(Kilmurry) 4- Cormac Bourke(Macroom) 5-Alexander Asling(Kilmurry) 6-Owen McCarthy(Clondrohid) 7-Michael Downey(Kilmichael) 8-Rory Duggan(Kilmurry) 9-Darren Moynihan(Canovee) 10-Sean O’Leary(Kilmurry) 11-Daire McMahon(Canovee) 12-Joe O’Mullane(Kilmurry) 13-Tom Browne(Kilmichael) 14-Alan Desmond(Kilmurry) 15-Denis O’Mullane(Kilmurry) 

Subs: 25-Noah O’Leary(Aghinagh) 20-Ryan Sabas(Macroom) 22-Oisin O’Sullivan(Macroom) 24-Jamie Hourihan(Clondrohid) 



Leave a Reply

Contact us today!

This will close in 20 seconds