Forms & Links

U16.5 Match Report March 16th   28/03/2022

Frewen Cup Munster Post Primary Colleges U16 1/2 A Football Championship Quarter Final
De La Salle College Macroom  2-12     Tralee CBS   1- 4

De La Salle Macroom U16.5s advanced to the semi final stage of the Frewen Cup (Munster Post Primary Colleges U16.5 A football championship) with this impressive victory over Tralee CBS at a sunny Tom Creedon Park, Macroom.  De La Salle who had earlier accounted for a highly rated Hamilton High Bandon side, will now meet the winners of the St Francis Rochestown/St Flannans Ennis quarter final and will be greatly encouraged by their performances to date.
DLS had wind advantage in the opening half and after a tight opening sequence, the home side broke the deadlock with two points in quick succession in the 6th minute, Jack Sweeney and Denis O’Mullane (free) the scorers.  Tralee hit back with a point but DLS were beginning to play with confidence and Denis O’Mullane fired over a point from play.  DLS defence was breached in the 21st minute when Tralee got in for a goal to take the lead but DLS had a great final ten minutes up to halftime.  Oisín O’Sulllivan and Alex Asling had points and Jack McSweeney slotted home a goal in the 25th minute.  Tom Browne added a point and on the stroke of half time centre back Seán O’Leary came forward to score a smashing goal which gave DLS an interval lead of 2-6 to 1-2. 
Tralee needed scores on the restart to get back into contention but instead it was De La Salle who put points on the board per Ds O’Mullane, Jack Sweeney and Tom Browne and the home defence had the Kerry boys under tight control.  With a nine point lead at the three quarter stage, 2-9 to 1-3, DLS were dominating as the Kerry boys could not make a breakthrough and with points from Fionn O’Reilly and Ds O’Mullane 2, victory was assured well before the final whistle.  
De La Salle: Cian Desmond (Kilmurry): David Lynch (Kilmichael), Michael Downey (Kilmichael), David O’Riordan (Kilmichael): Cormac Bourke (Macroom), Seán O’Leary (Kilmurry), Alexander Asling (Kilmurry); Fionn Kelleher (Kilmurry), Ryan Sabas (Macroom): Oisín O’Sullivan (Macroom), Denis O’Mullane (Kilmurry), Joe O’Mullane (Kilmurry): Jack Sweeney (Uibh Laoire), Noah O’Leary (Aghinagh), Tom Browne (Kilmichael). Subs introduced: Jamie Hourihan (Clondrohid), Cian Kelleher (Macroom), Cian O’Sullivan (Macroom), Fionn O’Reilly (Cill na Martra), Jesse Kelleher (Kilmurry), James O’Connor (Aghinagh).  
Team Coaches: Shane Ryan (Rathmore and Kerry) and Cian Kiely (Ballincollig and Cork).

Upcoming Events

School Life